Tonight! 7pm Eastern, with Charlie Green and Gina Nutt

Dear friends—

A quick update on the virtual tour. Thanks to those of you who were able to make the events with Elissa Gabbert and Dorthe Nors! It was a delight to get to talk with those writers about their work and mine.

Tonight, I’m doing a three-genre presentation with Gina Nutt, who will read from her new memoir, and Charlie Green, who has published a new book of poems. Click here to register for this crowdcast event. We all live in Ithaca, New York, and the event is hosted by our beloved local indie, Buffalo Street Books.

Also, I wanted to let you know I published a new essay this week on LitHub.com. In the seventies, my uncle Joe Mirenna moved to West Virginia, where he built a house; he wrote about the experience in this immensely entertaining memoir. During the past year, I’ve also been homesteading in West Virginia, inside the videogame Fallout 76, where part of my job has been to vaccinate the populace against a dangerous plague. The essay follows our two journeys, and talks a little about living both corporeally and virtually during the pandemic.

Writing about photography here has convinced me I ought to get back to developing my own film, so I will write about that experience in a future newsletter. I’ll also update you on the final two events of the virtual tour, with the writers Dana Spiotta, Sharma Shields, and Leyna Krow.

Be well, and I hope to see some of you tonight—
John.

Wednesday, May 19, 4 PM Pacific / 6 PM Central / 7 PM Eastern. In conversation with Dana Spiotta. Presented by McNally Jackson Books, registration link TK.

Thursday, May 27, 6:30 PM Pacific / 8:30 PM Central / 9:30 PM Eastern. In conversation with Sharma Shields and Leyna Krow. Presented by Books in Common NW, registration link TK.